Looking Sideways
Looking Sideways Action Sports Podcast
Episode 232: Looking Sideways x Db Journey Roundtable Special - How I Broke In
2
0:00
-1:11:08

Episode 232: Looking Sideways x Db Journey Roundtable Special - How I Broke In

Sharing our unconventional career paths with creative and community organiser Lyndsay McLaren, photographer Ron Timehin, and Db creative producer Hallvard Kolltveit, recorded live in London.
2

Ever wondered how you get one of those weird, none-conventional jobs? Ever wondered how people ACTUALLY ended up making a living doing something creative, and a little less ordinary? Harbour ambitions to make the leap, and give it a go yourself?

Then today’s bonus episode, a special Looking Sideways x Db Journey roundtable, is for you.

It’s the first half of the London Live Creative Exchange double header I hosted with my pals at Db in June 2024.

Once again, we hired Hoxton Arches. Once again, we invited a load of friends of LS and Db to come along for free. Once again, it was packed and vibes were high.


If you want to trial a paid subscription, there’s a really simple way: just forward this to five friends using the button below, and if they sign up free or paid, you’ll get three months paid sub free. Easy.

Share


Lyndsay, Hallvard and Ron

The subject for this first session? ‘How I Broke In’, with sought-after commercial photographer Ron Timehin; close friend-of-the-show Lyndsay McClaren, who works with me at , runs Neighbourhood Skate Club, and has had one of the most varied and impactful careers of anybody I know; and Hallvard Kolltveit, Db's own photography, production and creative wizard.

As regulars will know, our Creative Exchanges are all about sharing the knowledge, know-how and wisdom of our panelists with our growing community.

And in this discussion, my three panelists shared their own unconventional routes in, the mistakes they've made, the lessons they've learned, and basically proved one underlying truth about this whole creative game - there IS no conventional path, and knockbacks and mistakes are all part of the game.


ICYMI - my pals at Db were the OG additions to HKC Discount Club! They’ve joined my other partner brands Finisterre, Stance, Albion, Vivo and The Wave to offer Looking Sideways listeners and readers a whole heap of exclusive discount codes.

Just drop the code LOOKINGSIDEWAYS at checkout to get 15% off any purchase from my travel-obsessed Scandinavian cousins - and see the rest of my HKC club offers by hitting the button below.

HKC Discount Club


This is a really lovely, open and honest discussion that at times is really moving and emotional. I'm really grateful to all my panelists for taking part and sharing their insights.

I’d love to know what you think about this conversation, or if there are any other topics you’d like me to cover in future Creative Exchanges:

Leave a comment


Plus! Our next online Db Creative Exchange guest, on Wednesday July 3rd, is none other than the great Chris Burkard!

Yep, myself and Chris will be saddling up for the third time - sign up for tickets here (it’s free) and send in your questions for Chris on the Open Thread above.

2 Comments
Looking Sideways
Looking Sideways Action Sports Podcast
Presented by Matt Barr, Looking Sideways is a podcast about the best stories in skateboarding, snowboarding, surfing, and other related endeavours.